Personal tools
You are here: Home EU-Partners University of Wroclaw

University of Wroclaw

The University of Wrocław has a rich history of more than three centuries. Founded by Leopold I Habsburg the university evolved from a modest school run by Jesuits into one of the biggest academic institutions in Poland.

Since the beginning of the 20th century, the University of Wrocław has produced 9 Nobel Prize winners, such as Theodore Mommsen, Phillip Lenard, Eduard Buchner, Paul Ehrlich, Fritz Haber, Friedrich Bergius, Erwin Schrödinger, Otto Stern and Max Born.

After Second World War a group of Polish professors, formerly from Lvov (now in Ukraine), started teaching and research activities at the University of Wrocław Today the University of Wrocław is the largest university in the region and teaches over 40,000 students and around 1300 doctoral students at 10 Faculties. 9000 students graduate from the University every year.

All degrees awarded by our University are recognized all over the world. Our programs have been approved by the National quality assessment system. The University offers a broad range of courses taught in Polish and English in over 30 areas of study offered by 10 Faculties: philology, history and pedagogy, social sciences, law, administration and economics, mathematics and computer science, chemistry, physics and astronomy, biotechnology, biological sciences, and earth science and environmental management.

All courses have three stages, according to the EU-wide Bologna process: a three-year Bachelor program, a two-year Master program and an optional 4-year doctoral program. There is also a wide range of continuing education programs. International students proficient in Polish are welcome to enroll in courses taught in Polish. Students who wish to study in Polish can enroll in a one-year preparatory course in Polish. However all Faculties runs at least one master program in English, some of them bachelor. At the doctoral level students may study in English in any area they choose. All degrees awarded by UWr are recognized all over the world.

The English programs offered by our University:

Name of the study program Duration
Bachelor of Computer Science 6
Bachelor of English Philology 6
Master of Classics 4
Master of English Philology 4
Master of Managerial Economics 4
Master of Experimental Physics 4
Master of Theoretical Physics 4
Master of Computer Physics 4
Master of Chemistry 4
Master of Biotechnology 4
Master of Computer Science 4
Master of Mathematics 4
Master of International Relations 4
Master of Political Sciences 4
Master of Tourism 4
Master of Geography and Environmental Management 4
Master of Geology and Environmental Geosciences 4


International cooperation and exchange programs

The University of Wrocław cooperates with many institutions of higher education across  and outside the Europe. Each year, Wrocław schools admit about 450 students and send almost 800 students abroad to study, teach and conduct research at prestigious schools in Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Belgium, Great Britain, the Netherlands and the countries of Scandinavia. Outside the EU, the University of Wrocław has special bilateral agreements with Russia, the Ukraine and Kazakhstan, USA, India, China, as well as many other countries around the world.

In recent years, the University of Wrocław has been actively participating in the following exchange programs. This cooperation includes student and staff exchange. Each year the number of participants increases.

Erasmus Program - University of Wrocław joined the Socrates/Erasmus program in 1998. In the last eight years, the University has signed over 530 exchange agreements with universities from different EU countries and 8 agreements (5 with Norway and 3 with Switzerland) within the so-called Erasmus.

International Student Exchange Program - In 2005 the University of Wrocław joined the world's largest association of higher education institutions. ISEP has 260 members in the USA and 35 in European countries and focuses on organizing student exchange programs between universities of the world.

Leonardo da Vinci -This program is designed for our graduate students who wish to gain professional experience. Students from different Faculties will start work in modern corporations, institutions and social and cultural centers and will have the chance to gain practical knowledge of European standards and priorities.

Erasmus Mundus Program -This program promotes high quality Master programs offered by universities in and outside of the EU. As one of the partners to this program the University of Wrocław offers two Erasmus Mundus Master Courses taught in English:

1.    European Master Global Studies
2.    MONABIPHOT - Molecular non- and bio-photonics for telecommunications and Biotechnologies
Students enrolled in 2009/20010 in both of these programs come from Australia, Cambodia, China, Egypt, Germany, India, Pakistan, Palestine, Taiwan, Ukraine.

For further information, please refer to their official website or get interactive on  

Document Actions

The contacts of all partners can be found here.

MULTIC Co-ordination Office:
TU Dresden
International Office
Mrs. Kerstin Kruse

Tel.: +49 351 463-33398
Fax: +49 351 463-37738
E-Mail: mundus @

TU Dresden
Akademisches Auslandsamt
01062 Dresden